Spotlight: Meet International Librarian Sara Rizzo

6.10.16 – Here is news about one of the attendees of the upcoming Leaning International IRRT Program which is part of ALA 2016 . We are creating a list so we can all learn a little about each other and to help connect before, during, and after the program. However this information is for all librarians everywhere so feel free to connect via the blog or write me an e-mail.

(FYI: For more information about working for Nazarbayev University please search ‘Nazarbayev’ in the blog.)

 

srizzo.jpgSarah Rizzo: After finishing my MLIS in 2013, I accepted a job  at Nazarbayev University Library (NUL) in Astana, Kazakhstan. I started in the Patron Services department, but later moved to the Reference Department. Additionally, I served as the subject librarian for the School of Humanities & Social Sciences (SHSS). During my time working there, I spearheaded many successful outreach programs and initiatives. When I started, SHSS faculty and students were among the lowest populations of library users, but by the time I left they couldn’t get enough of our services. I also taught several training sessions and workshops for librarians in the region so they could start similar projects in their own libraries. My last few months at NUL were spent on electronic resources management and ILL. After two years there, I decided it was time to come back NJ. I returned August 2015 and am currently the Electronic Resources/Serials Management Librarian at Caldwell University in Caldwell, NJ.

Leave a comment

Filed under Interview/Spotlight

Leave a Reply

