Spotlight: Meet International Librarian Sam Crawford

5.10.15 –  In the upcoming weeks I am going to be spotlighting librarians with international experience who are planning on attending ALA 2016 and the Leaning Internatonal IRRT Program.  We are creating a list so we can all learn a little about each other and to help connect before, during, and after the program. However this information is for all librarians everywhere so feel free to connect via the blog or write me an e-mail.

Sam CrawfordSam Crawford, MLIS
Academic Librarian at Northern Marianas College (NMC)
Saipan Island, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

Since January, I’ve been working as the Academic Librarian at Northern Marianas College (NMC) on the island of Saipan, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI).  I’m still learning “how things work” on the island and within the College itself, but I’m continuing to dig into this opportunity, full force, and I am thrilled beyond measure to be here. 

Broadly, I would describe myself as a musician and self-proclaimed “library nerd” with a bent towards the creative.  I earned degrees in music from East Tennessee State University (B.M., Vocal Music Education, ’09) and New York University (M.M., Music Composition and Theory, ’11).  More recently, I completed a Master’s in library and information science at the University of Tennessee’s School of Information Sciences, where my studies focused on academic librarianship (specifically related to music and the humanities), archives and records management, and digital curation.  

I have provided information services for a variety of both federal and academic institutions, including the Library of Congress, the U.S. Department of Defense, and the University of Tennessee.  Before coming to NMC, I served as the interim K-12 Instructional Librarian at the University School of Nashville, in Nashville, Tennessee.”

I have very high hopes of attending this year’s ALA meeting in Orlando.  For me, the chance to personally meet you and others involved with the IRRT would be a tremendous opportunity to share and discuss alternative views of information work, connect with some like-minded professionals, and expand and strengthen myriad professional networks in the spirit of simply sharing information and learning / growing together.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Conferences, Interview/Spotlight

Leave a Reply

