News: Isis burns thousands of books and rare manuscripts from Mosul’s libraries

2/28/15 –  Isis burns thousands of books and rare manuscripts from Mosul’s libraries

This blog is not a political one but I can’t ignore this.  When I was in Abu Dhabi, one day a man came to deliver something and he lingered by my desk.  I asked him to sit down and he then shared that his father has been a librarian in Iraq but had been forced to leave when the Shah was deposed.  He did not comment on the politics of the situation (overseas most everyone tries to be tactful and keep opinions out of the workplace when possible) but he did say how sad his father was as he knew his library had been destroyed and all the valuable manuscripts and objects in it.  I rarely offer personal comments on this blog but these stories shared with me during my years elsewhere are part of the reason why I encourage others to go.  It may be the only way we can continue to reach out. Sarah P.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

